‘The 33’ and ‘Kidnap Capital’ Earn Imagen Award Best Picture Nods


Antonio Banderas, Lou Diamond Phillips, Juliette Binoche, Jennifer Lopez and Eva Longoria were among the notables receiving nominations for the 31st annual Imagen Awards, which recognize positive portrayals and creative excellence of Latinos and Latino culture.

Two films were nominated for best picture: “The 33,” which tells the story of the 33 miners trapped in a Chilean mine collapse, and “Kidnap Capital,” the story of illegal immigrants held hostage in an Arizona drop house.

Banderas and Mario Casas were nominated for best film actor for their work in “The 33,” along with Ryan Guzman of “Beyond Paradise.” Binoche was also nominated for her work in “The 33,” along with Morena Baccarin of “Deadpool” and Francia Raisa of “Beyond Paradise.”

On the small screen, nominations for best primetime drama went to “American Crime,” “Castle,” “Code Black,” “The Fosters,” “Major Crimes,” “Shades of Blue” and “Switched at Birth.”

Nominated for best primetime comedy were “Brooklyn Nine-Nine,” “Jane the Virgin,” “Modern Family,” “Telenovela” and “Young & Hungry.”

The awards will be presented Sept. 9 at the Beverly Hilton.

Nominees include:

Best Picture
   — “The 33”
— “Kidnap Capital”

Best Director
   — Patricia Riggen, “The 33”
— Felipe Rodriguez, “Kidnap Capital”

Best Actor – Feature Film
   — Antonio Banderas, “The 33”
— Mario Casas, “The 33”
— Ryan Guzman, “Beyond Paradise”

Best Actress – Feature Film
   — Morena Baccarin, ““Deadpool”
— Juliette Binoche, “The 33”
— Francia Raisa, “Beyond Paradise”
Best Supporting Actor – Feature Film
   — Lou Diamond Phillips, “The 33”
— Reynaldo Pacheco, “Our Brand Is Crisis”
— Edgar Ramírez, “Joy”
— Rodrigo Santoro, “The 33”

Best Supporting Actress – Feature Film
   — Julie Carmen, “Dawn Patrol”
— Cote de Pablo, “The 33”
— Kate del Castillo, “The 33”

Best Primetime Television Program – Drama
   — “American Crime”
— “Castle”
— “Code Black”
— “The Fosters”
— “Major Crimes”
— “Shades of Blue”
— “Switched at Birth”

Best Primetime Television Program – Comedy
   — “Brooklyn Nine-Nine”
— “Jane The Virgin”
— “Modern Family”
— “Telenovela”
— “Young & Hungry”

Best Primetime Program: Special or Made-for-TV-Movie
   — “Crimson Peak: En Exclusiva con Guillermo del Toro”
— “The Passion”
— “Show Me a Hero”

Best Actor – Television
   — Gael Garcia Bernal, “Mozart in the Jungle”
— Oscar Isaac, “Show Me a Hero”
— Daniel Mora, “Sin Verguenza”
— Wagner Moura, “Narcos”
— Pedro Pascal, “Narcos”
— Jon Seda, “Chicago PD”

Best Actress – Television
   — Eliana Alexander, “Sin Verguenza”
— America Ferrera, “Superstore”
— Eva Longoria, “Telenovela”
— Jennifer Lopez, “Shades of Blue”
— Jaina Lee Ortiz, “Rosewood”
— Gina Rodriguez, “Jane the Virgin”
— Raini Rodriguez, “Austin & Ally”
— Sofía Vergara, “Modern Family”

Best Supporting Actor – Television
   — Jaime Camil, “Jane the Virgin”
— Jencarlos Canela, “Telenovela”
— JM Longoria III, “Sin Verguenza”
— Joe Minoso, “Chicago Fire”
— Esai Morales, “Mozart in the Jungle”
— Jose Moreno Brooks, “Telenovela”
— Rico Rodriguez, “Modern Family”

Best Supporting Actress – Television
   — Stephanie Beatriz, “Brooklyn Nine-Nine”
— Melissa Fumero, “Brooklyn Nine-Nine”
— Alex Meneses, “Telenovela”
— Andrea Navedo, “Jane the Virgin”
— Monica Raymund, “Chicago Fire”
— Diana Maria Riva, “Telenovela”
— Lisa Vidal, “Being Mary Jane”

Best Young Actor – Television
   — Paola Andino, “Every Witch Way”
— Nathan Arenas, “BUNK’D”
— Felix Avitia, “Gamer’s Guide to Pretty Much Everything”
— Dalila Bela, “Odd Squad”
— Isabela Moner, “100 Things to Do Before High School”
— Jenna Ortega, “Stuck in the Middle”
— Maria Quezada, “Talia In the Kitchen”

Best Variety or Reality Show
   — “The Biggest Loser: Temptation Nation”
— “Brain Games”
— “Cesar 911”
— “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver”
— “MasterChef”
— “The Real”

Best Children’s Programming
   — “Doc McStuffins”
— “Dora and Friends: Into the City!”
— “Every Witch Way”
— “Sesame Street”
— “Talia In the Kitchen”

Best Documentary/Film or Television
   — “American Dreamers”
— “Great Performances”
— “The Latin Explosion: A New America”
— “No Mas Bebes (No More Babies)”
— “SC Featured: No Excuses”
— “Voces and American Masters: Pedro E. Guerrero: A Photographer’s

Best National Informational Program
   — “24/7: Cotto/Canelo”
— “Beyond Dreams, The Story of Emmanuel `El Cabrito’ Zuniga”
— “Pati’s Mexican Table”
— “Vice”

Best Local Informational Program
   — “LA Now” (LA County Office of Countywide Communication)
— “Life Connected: Hispanic Heritage Special” (NBC4-Southern California)
— “Puerto Rican Voices” (WIPR / The Center for Puerto Rican Studies)

Best On-Air Advertising
   — “Crossover: Prince Royce” (Landia)
— “Hispanic Heritage Month: Yair Rodriguez” (UFC.com; Zuffa LLC)
— “The Messenger” (UFC.com; Zuffa LLC)
— “Sin Verguenza” (www.SVseries.com; Kavich Reynolds Productions &
AltaMed Health Services Corporation)
— “Space for Dreams” (Caviar Films)

Best Theatrical Short or Student Film
   — “22 Years” (Dawn Noel Pignuola)
— “Guiltless” (Ajuua Entertainment)
— “The Two Rickies” (Juan Diego Ramirez)
— “Vamonos” (Film Independent/Project Involve)

Best Web Series
   — “BUTS Webseries” (BUTS Inc.)
— “LA Now” (LA County Office of Countywide Communication)
— “Puerto Rican Voices” (WIPR / The Center for Puerto Rican Studies)
— “Sin Verguenza” (www.SVseries.com; Kavich Reynolds Productions &
AltaMed Health Services Corporation)
— “Through The Wall” (The Guardian; Human Resources Company)

Posted - Copyright © 2022 Eastern Group Publications, Inc.

Print This Post Print This Post

Leave A Reply

Comments are intended to further discussion on the article topic. EGPNews reserves the right to not publish, edit or remove comments that contain vulgarities, foul language, personal attacks, racists, sexist, homophobic or other offensive terminology or that contain solicitations, spam, or that threaten harm of any sort. EGPNews will not approve comments that call for or applaud the death, injury or illness of any person, regardless of their public status. Questions regarding this policy should be e-mailed to service@egpnews.com.